PDA

View Full Version : Film advice

indyfan31
03-21-06, 12:24 PM
I'm planning on going to the Champcar test session next week and I'd like to take some pictures with the Nikon FE2 I bought recently.
However, for the last year I've been shooting only digital and for over 5 years before that I did very little with my cameras.
What I'd like is suggestions on what film type and brand to use, I know little to nothing about the films available today. The forcast for next thursday is rain, therefore (even if it doesn't rain) I'm assuming overcast skies. So, considering the flat lighting conditions I'd like to get the best color and sharpness possible (without venturing into Fuji territory).
I realize most of the pros around here have migrated to digital but I'm assuming y'all still keep up with the latest in film tech.

rosawendel
03-21-06, 12:43 PM
just bought a d-70s myself, and jumping headfirst into the digital realm.

indyfan31
03-21-06, 04:19 PM
just bought a d-70s myself, and jumping headfirst into the digital realm.
Same here, I bought a D-70 last year, it's a blast.

Gangrel
03-21-06, 04:22 PM
D70 in the house :D

Shooting racing is the easy part. I gotta' find the money one of these days for a housing so I can shoot with it when I'm scuba diving!

indyfan31
03-23-06, 02:11 AM
None of the photogs here use film? :confused:

TrueBrit
03-23-06, 08:54 AM
None of the photogs here use film? :confused:

"Film"? What's "film"? :D

cameraman
03-23-06, 01:50 PM
Film is that expensive stuff you put in an EOS-3.

If you are planning on shooting professional color transparency films you don't have a whole lot of choices anymore.

If you want 400 speed film you have one choice, Fuji Provia 400F is the only 400 speed film you will easily find. If you need the speed, which you will if it is a heavily overcast day this is your only choice. You will find that the Provia 400F is also the most expensive of the lot.