PDA

View Full Version : Lexus to ALMS GT2S

NismoZ
12-01-05, 02:29 PM
Welcome to another factory effort. ALMS has to be liking this, but I'd still like to see more thunder up top! I think that's where Honda can find that competition they're always bragging about.

Methanolandbrats
12-01-05, 02:38 PM
Welcome to another factory effort. ALMS has to be liking this, but I'd still like to see more thunder up top! I think that's where Honda can find that competition they're always bragging about.06 is the beginning of a new era :thumbup:

extramundane
12-01-05, 03:51 PM
http://www.speedarena.com/news/uploads/sportscar/600_400_038.jpg

Possibly a couple more S2 entries coming as well. I think there are far more entries confirmed for next year than there were last year at this time. GT1 is the only class that probably won't see fairly substantial growth in numbers.

Sean O'Gorman
12-01-05, 04:07 PM
What is S2?

Steve99
12-01-05, 04:39 PM
I'm no expert but....

S2 is a rules set for running in ALMS GT2 class. Allows sports sedans with 2 or 4 doors. I don't think S2 cars will necessarily be legal at Le Mans 24.

FCYTravis
12-01-05, 04:48 PM
The S2 cars won't be legal at the 24 Hours of Le Mans at all.

This is a great step forward - because it means Don and the guys running IMSA finally have figured that that what works for a bunch of French guys running basically one race a year doesn't necessarily work for a 10-race series in the United States.

Screw the ACO, run what works for America - and if that means making a new class, do it.

:thumbup: to a rejuvenated ALMS.

coolhand
12-01-05, 04:54 PM

This is a great step forward - because it means Don and the guys running IMSA finally have figured that that what works for a bunch of French guys running basically one race a year doesn't necessarily work for a 10-race series in the United States.

Screw the ACO, run what works for America - and if that means making a new class, do it.

:thumbup: to a rejuvenated ALMS.