PDA

View Full Version : Upset with Champ Car

rabbit
11-04-05, 11:51 AM
Ok, I've tried to just let this go. But I feel the need to vent. Since June, I have been paying $4.95/month for Race Director (a total of $24.75). My VISA is billed automatically each month for the service, which I get a lot of use out of. It is, in my opinion, well worth the cost.

That said, the last several races (since Edmonton, I beleive), Race Director has been offered free. After the first two or three times, I emailed Champ Car to complain. I received no reply. I decided to just let it go. I mean, it wasn't like they were going to do this for every race. Well they have. In fact, the day the press release was issued announcing free RD, my VISA was billed $4.95. I emailed Champ Car a second time and got no response.

As I said, I don't mind paying for the service. But don't charge me for it and then offer it for free to everybody else who's too cheap to pay for it. I'm a full-time independent college student with a wife and kid to support. $4.95 here and there adds up after a while.

I can't say that I will purchase RD next year, unless I have some assurance that they won't do the same thing.

NismoZ
11-04-05, 11:59 AM
So, maybe next season if everyone has to pay, YOU'LL get it free because they know you already paid? Either that, or you just got screwed!

KLang
11-04-05, 12:05 PM
I paid once at the beginning of the year. Worth every penny to me. I'll buy again next year.

That said, there have been a fair number of people complaining here and elsewhere so I expect something will be done differently next year.

trish
11-04-05, 03:01 PM
I've paid for the past two years, but I think I'll go for the free deal next year. :)

By the way Rabbit, you'd better look into cancelling your Race Director subscription soon or you'll find yourself billed after the season is over. It would have been cheaper to do the one time payment.

rabbit
11-04-05, 03:04 PM