PDA

View Full Version : Computer Geek Questions

devilmaster
10-11-05, 03:12 PM
Hey all,

I never claim to be an expert, but i do know my way around computers, and it brings me to my dilemma.

I finished up the lastest work for my friend's dad, I am his computer support, I built both their systems, etc.etc.etc. So as a thank you, he today sent me two 50 dollar gift certificates to the store where I get all my hardware. So i'm going shopping. :)

Here's my dilemma. I am going to buy a dvd burner. I need it. I have been holding off on reinstalling my system because i have a huge collection of video files from a few tv shows i like, and I had no where to dump them while i reinstall. (the install will be fresh because of a nasty virus that my scanner didn't pick up originally, I got rid of the virus, but the system has never been the same, so its a fresh install with a wiped HD.)

here's the catch. I have no knowledge of dvd burning. Do I get -R or +R discs? Which one is better for making actual dvd's, which is better for data storage? What is a standard burn time for 8X or 16X? 16 speed seems to be relatively new - are 16X reliable?

Any and all info to learn me will be much appreciated. Thanks Folks.

racer2c
10-11-05, 03:19 PM
-R. End of story. :)

Stu
10-11-05, 04:58 PM
Most burners today should be +R and -R. Buy the discs based on what you will be playing them on. If it is just for storage, then either will work. If you want to make movie files to play on a DVD player for TV use, do some research online for what DVD players are compatable with each format.

Make sure you also get a drive that burns dual layered DVD's.

Personally, I am building a new comp and am gonna buy this DVD burner for it.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16827106990

Its got everything I need and it's only 38 bucks.

Wabbit
10-11-05, 06:46 PM