PDA

View Full Version : Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

DjDrOmusic
09-21-05, 12:11 PM
With what I do for a living, I guess I look at music and musicians with sort of a skewed eye. I have my favorites and those that I just don't care for. Some of my most enjoyable meetings, and interviews for that matter, include Gene Simmons of KISS, Ted Nugent, before he was a radio and hunting celebrity and country artist Roy Clark. Those that made me less than happy to be talking with them included Mick Thomas of Starship, Sting and Chaka Kahn. Which sort of leads me to the voting for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. There have been so many artists that have never even been considered for induction into the hall and many who have been given entry that really makes me wonder what is going on. I've never questioned anyones preference as to which groups they prefer or what artists they like, but please tell me who you would nominate for induction into the hall and who you would leave out if you had the power to do so? I for one have never understood how Marty Robbins wouldn't be inducted as an early influence, as his El Paso was the first country song to cross over to the Top 40 and become a hit on both charts. I also would retract the nominations for The Pretenders. Just my opinions but what do you think?

DjDrOmusic
09-21-05, 12:14 PM
I almost forgot what I consider to be the most glaring oversight, Wolfman Jack!! Please whether he's inducted under his radio name or his real name, Bob Smith, he needs to be in the HOF!

devilmaster
09-21-05, 01:05 PM
I always have a problem with halls of fame or top 10 lists.... mostly because its arbitrary. Its personal preference.

A perfect example of this, is Windsor's 'walk of fame'. Brought out with great fanfare a couple years ago, it was supposed to celebrate famous and deserving Windsorites. They only did it one time, and to be in it, you needed a petition of names, and something like 3500 bucks.....