PDA

View Full Version : Home remedies for strep throat?

WickerBill
03-04-03, 09:21 AM
Okay everyone, tell me what you do for relief of a killer sore throat. I'm on some antibiotics but of course they don't help with the immediate pain -- do you suggest ibuprofen, or gargling salt water, or what? I'm willing to try anything. :mad:

Ed_Severson
03-04-03, 09:27 AM
I'm no doctor, although I'm marrying a pharmacist, so bear with me. ;)

Probably the safest thing you can do is to take some ibuprofen. It's not likely to interact with the antibiotics you're on, and it's going to help you out with both the pain of having a sore throat, and the inflammation that's causing the pain.

If that doesn't work, consult somebody who is legally qualified to give you medical advice. :)

WickerBill
03-04-03, 09:33 AM
Well, that's the problem; those who are certified told me to "wait it out". I realize a different doc would probably tell me something better, but since I'd rather not make an appointment and go to another doc, I thought I'd ask all the really smart people on OC. ;)

mapguy
03-04-03, 09:34 AM
Usually a couple of cold ones work for me.

mello
03-04-03, 09:46 AM
Chloraseptic. It will help for awhile anyway. I hope you get to feeling better soon.

RaceGrrl
03-04-03, 10:11 AM
I asked the doc I work for and he said, all of the above. Use warm salt water gargles, over the counter pain relievers such as Tylenol or Ibuprofen, Chloraseptic or other throat soothing over the counter products. If you're being treated for strep with antibiotics, the only thing you can do for pain is treat it symptomatically.

Popsicles and sherbet seem to make my throat feel better when I'm sick, but that may just be because I want an excuse to have the sugar. :)

Warlock!
03-04-03, 10:33 AM