PDA

View Full Version : Whats the draw to oval racing and open wheel?

murchman
03-15-05, 10:26 AM
Been away for awhile and just been catching up on the latest news on the the two series. I just spent some time at the TF splizville section reading what they think the problem is and the solution to solve it all. One thing no one over there seems to ask is do people really want to see open wheel cars oval race?

I starting really getting into racing back in 96 when my father convinced me to watch the Road America race. I loved the action and skill reqiured to go fast around that type of track and from that point on I was hooked. I watched a few more road and street races and thought to myself that man I have been missing out for so many years. Then the oval racing part of the season started to kick in and I was so board watching them and just never really got anything out of it since if I wanted to watch that I could switch to Nascar and see more cars side by side and lots of carnage. So for most of the next season I watched every street and road course race they had while skipping all the oval's since I didn't get much out of them but understood that you need some ovals to make it a well balanced league. It seemed at that time Cart was going after just what I wanted as they seem to be doing more road and street then oval, at the time I didn't really know about the split and the other league causing those changes.

I know CCWS is going after the street and road course crowd like myself and I think it's great but I have to wonder if they fail will I be stuck with the crappy oval series that thinks 2 or 3 non oval races is enough. I just don't get why oval racing and open wheel seems to be such a good idea? Nascar owns the ovals, people like to watch Nascar do what it does best and it seems I am not the only one that doesn't want to see open wheel cars try to be like cup cars.