PDA

View Full Version : computer go boom

rosawendel
07-23-04, 03:55 PM
okay, so my power supply on my home 'puter fried because of a power spike, and i'm replacing my power supply. unfortunately, as it was consuming itself, it sprayed a bunch of gunk on the inside of the box, getting all over the motherbopard, but particularly my graphics card. i don't think it'll be a big deal to install a new power supply, but how do i clean the gunk off the cards? what can i use on them? i';m guessing water or fantastik would probably be bad. any help? thx.

RichK
07-23-04, 03:59 PM
I'm no expert, but maybe you could check into what circuit board companies use to clean excess solder from their boards. Many years ago, they used a solvent to do this, which left no conductive residue behind.

I'd imagine that Isopropyl Alcohol (rubbing alcohol that you can buy at a drugstore) would work well, as it doesn't leave much behind and is safe.

Check this out: Alconox (http://cleaning.alconox.com/circuit_board_cleaning.htm)
They even will send you a free sample! :)

Lizzerd
07-23-04, 04:22 PM
Yep, the alcohol and an old toothbrush. I suspect that the gunk is from an electrolytic capacitor. Can't remember what that stuff is called.

Ummmm... No power surge protection? Shame on you.

Edit: I hope I'm wrong, but you might end up being lucky if it is only your power supply that got fried.

rosawendel
07-23-04, 04:32 PM
thanks for the ideas. hopefully, it was just the power supply... i'll know as soon as i get the new one.

btw, the power surge strip did nothing. there waqs an alarm in it that did go off, but it just passed the juice on to the computer... no help from the circuit breaker, the fuse box, or the surge protector, just the power supply (poor little fella).

cart7
07-25-04, 09:33 AM
Yep, the alcohol and an old toothbrush. I suspect that the gunk is from an electrolytic capacitor. Can't remember what that stuff is called.