PDA

View Full Version : Pocono Raceway

Rogue Leader
07-08-04, 10:16 PM
Im back, and Pocono was kickass... I had a great time and due to the fact this was a one-off (Skip Barber) we got a lot of extra track time. I am SOOO freeking beat, as we drove ALLLLLLLLLLLL day the past 2 days, 35 minute continuous lapping sessions. I learned many things:

1. Safer barriers are just as scary looking as real walls... luckily I didnt meet one (but came close)
2. in relation to #1... the safer barrier does end at some point... that part is scarier... missed that by a few inches ;)
3. I'm a pretty good driver, until I run out of balls... I need to find more.
4. I'm a wimp I need to work out more.
5. I wish my parents got me a kart as a kid, then I would be much faster.
6. jumping the start isnt cheating when you anticipate the flagman and jump it before he can pull back :)

I really do have the techniques down now, and I can be fast at times, but in reality I need a lot of practice and track time to be competitive... And thus is the eternal problem of racing, how big is your wallet?.....

The actual point of this though is somewhere on here we were discussing the condition of the track in some post about the NASCAB race there, so I said Id get back to everyone on the condition. After running on the track I can say in person its in MUCH BETTER SHAPE than on TV. The oval section is less bumpy than Daytona (I ran there in December), the south infield road course, while not "brilliant" in design is in perfect shape, basically smooth, and even has decent grip in the rain. Probably because nobody ever races on it much except track days and stuff. Tons more grip than Daytonas infield section (which is in terrible shape). I was honestly impressed by Pocono as on TV it looked kinda dumpy but in person it really wasnt bad at all, and much smoother than it seems.

cart7
07-08-04, 10:23 PM