PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm new

Rogue Leader
04-19-04, 07:45 PM
Rabbit told me about this place from the hk94 forums. My name is Tom and I'm a wanna be race car driver. (its like an AA meeting). Ive been watching Champ Car races for longer than I can remember (according to my folks), and I have been lurking here for about 2 weeks now and this seems like a cool place. Ive finally found a forum with good educated racing viewpoints!

A little about me, Im an Insurance Agent for GEICO, but I'm also an avid autocrosser for the past 5 years and the Regional Chief of Tech for the SCCA NY Region Solo II. Im also on the second rung of the Skip Barber champ car ladder, I'm HOPING to be running this season in the Formula Dodge eastern regionals, however the sponsorship money I was counting on hasn't come though, Im looking to run a testing and limited schedule this season and I have a partnership with another race driver friend to help us both get sponsored, which I'll tell you all more about as it comes to fruition (its a cool new idea and we may parlay it to help many young race drivers like me who dont have the advantages of Nelson Philipe, et al). Ive also scored a test date with a local Formula Renault team later on this summer which should be interesting... that will need a LOT more sponsorship cash lol. Getting Sponsorship is a PITA, but most of us know that...

Back to Champ Car, PT rocks, but I'm an Alex Tagliani fan because he has helped me out with some good advice on my racing career (he is the nicest sports star you could ever meet and went out of his way BY FAR to help me out, I'll never forget something like that). I met Sam Posey too last summer, hes also a pretty cool guy. I hope to be a good contributor to this forum, and thanks for letting me in!

oh and FTG!!! :gomer:

--Tom

devilmaster
04-19-04, 07:55 PM
Welcome sir! :thumbup: