PDA

View Full Version : Champcar sponsors?

Leonard
02-28-04, 09:15 PM
Ok here we go. I read 7g forums for about two years now and other forums for six months. This is my first post in my hole life. For a long time think about
sponsor in campcar and I am wondering why the states in US not get any many for a car in the series. If it is so good for the economi in the cities there the race is going it will be good for big area around. Look at St.Pete
Floida will sponsor a car with visit Florida now, in Texas Look at Texas Now.
Is this not possibly in US? I am from Europe and here there make Pr for regions
of wintersports, sunny beachs and good natures.
I am sorry for bad english because I am only a simply farmer.

LH

Railbird
02-28-04, 10:24 PM
I am sorry for bad english because I am only a simply farmer

hey, no sweat Leornord, I still carry my "english for dummies" with me into the crapper every morning.

State/region sponsorship would be nearly impossible here in the good ol' USA what with tax protests and all.

Lizzerd
02-28-04, 10:27 PM
Leonard, welcome to Off Camber.

From time to time, a local company will sponsor a team for a race or two. I recall Food 4 Less on the sidepod of Richie Hearn's car in the mid to late '90's for instance. OXXO, a Mexican grocery chain, had their name on a car a couple years ago in Monterey. I'm sure there are others...

The sad thing is that here in the US, it is difficult for a team to get full time sponsorship in a struggling open wheel series, especially one that has a divided fan base among open wheel fans (thank you Mr. George). The easiest way to get sponsors is to put fenders on your car, and even that is becoming more difficult.

Rob
02-28-04, 10:34 PM