PDA

View Full Version : Quick Tivo question...

Warlock!
02-20-04, 12:19 PM
I have a DirecTV dish (dual LBN, LNB - whatever it's called). I have a regular DirecTV receiver and a dual-tuner DirecTivo receiver. When I picked up the DirecTivo receiver a couple weeks ago I thought, "Heck... I don't need no stinking multi-switch! It won't be very often I'll wanna record something at the same time I'm watching something else!"

Well, now it seems that it happens all the fekking time. So, since one of the cables off the dish goes to my regular DirecTV receiver, I guess I'll have to get a multi-switch for the line coming in to the DirecTivo to activate both tuners in the receiver. Now, I'm already paying $4.99/mo for one extra reciever. Does DirecTV charge another $4.99/mo for a line split by a multi-switch to feed the dual-tuner DirecTivo receiver?

I'm a cheap bastard by trade... another $4.99 (that's a six-pack in Layman's terms) takes my TV bill above $50/month (I don't care how much you pay each month for TV... $50 is my cutoff point for at least a few years yet).

So... am I screwed?

(I guess that wasn't such a quick question after all)

Winter Warlock!

WickerBill
02-20-04, 12:24 PM
No, DTV charges per access card, not per line. Therefore, your DTivo has two cable inputs but only one card; therefore it is one charge.

Multiswitches for DTV are typically 2x4 or 2x8 -- your dual LNB has two cables coming from it. They would go into the 2 part of the multiswitch, and then each output is a standard 1:1 ratio with the tuners in your house. So 2 outputs for your Tivo, and one per standard receiver.

Just got my second Tivo yesterday. Tivo in the bedroom. Remind me to tell you all my horror story from yesterday. Ugh.

WB

Foxman
02-20-04, 12:27 PM
Hey brutha, they don't charge you any more money for running a multiswitch.. Honestly they have no way of knowing whether or not you are running one..

Warlock!
02-20-04, 01:06 PM