PDA

View Full Version : I lost a very dear friend yesterday....

RaceChic
02-12-04, 11:10 PM
:(

Some of you who know me know I am a critical care nurse. I used to work in an ICU at a large teaching hospital in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. We specialize in post-transplant cases. These cases can be very rewarding, but also very challenging as well. Some of these patients can suffer from rejection of their transplanted organs as well as infections due to their immunocompromised state created to prevent them from rejecting their organs. Because of these complications, some of these patients can be in the ICU for a very long time, sometimes up to months at a time. When this occurs, they can become a whole different challenge to care for. They suffer from depression and poor motivation. These patients accept transplantation in hopes of trading an unmanageable disease for a more manageable disease. Even though these patients want a transplant for a second lease on life, when they hit complications, even the most motivated of spirits can suffer. This brings me to my friend, Yves.

He suffered from Cystic Fibrosis. At 20 years of age, he had his first double lung transplant. He sailed through the recovery phase and was home in a few weeks back in Timmins, some 8 hours north of Toronto. A month later he suffered acute rejection and was back in Toronto. It becomes a dilemma whether or not to give these patients a second transplant because of how ill they become during rejection and the reduced likelihood of success. Yves was a fighter and a warm, happy spirit, so the team went ahead. Sometimes having a fighting spirit is a better set of predictability of success than any statistic a doctor can offer. A donor became available and he had his second double lung transplant.