PDA

View Full Version : digi cam

nz_climber
10-30-03, 01:12 AM
I know the mp3 player thread was running a bit off topic, but Im looking at buying a digital camera, what should I get, Im not a professional, and unsure to go for a simple point and shot (like cannon powershot stuff) or for something with a few more options (like the fiji S5000, Minolta Z1 etc)

Any ideas here, wanted to spend about a $1000 NZD (about $500 USD)

I want to take pictures at races, and out climbing in the mountains etc

TIA
Aaron

Lizzerd
10-30-03, 01:23 AM
chop might still have one.

Link (http://www.offcamber.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2673)

Sorry... couldn't resist.

But seriously, I don't have an answer for you. I have a 3 - 4 year old digital camera, but it's only good for still shots. Sorry.

nz_climber
10-30-03, 01:59 AM
heheh - I could see that coming a mile off, makes me laugh everytime thou :D

Kiwifan
10-30-03, 05:48 AM
Aaron, I went here Reviews (http://www.dpreview.com/) to find out all about things digital. Great learning place and it has plenty of tips as well. We got the Pentax Optio 550 with a huge discount. We were going to buy the 400 model (4mp) but because two of us wanted cameras the guy traded us up for a similar price.

If you can find someone else who wants one too I could possibly get either one for about the same price you are suggesting. Let me know if you are serious. He only deals Pentax. Seemingly there are pros and cons for most brands and models. I'll try and get some pics to you next week. ;)

Later mate,

Rusty.

mapguy
10-30-03, 07:33 AM
My mom-in-law has the Pentax Optio 550. It is cute and small and it meows. Other than that it is pretty much a hard camera to use for me. Because it is so small the buttons are really tiny and really hard to use. Other than that it takes great pictures and it has Pentax glass. So you know the lens is great.