PDA

View Full Version : Questions for WB and the other old timers

FTG
09-25-03, 06:57 PM
Some of the crappies were talking about the first person to say FTG. Naturally, I was curious about the answer.

Also, who coined the term crapwagon?

Was it an instant hit like Saturday Night Fever, or more of a bubbling underground sensation like Rocky Horror Picture Show.

And since everyone loves nostalgia, and we're looking back anyway, why not share the old stories about a group of crazy kids with stars in their eyes, who thought about starting an Internet auction site, but decided instead that a better way to profit from this emrging technology was by starting a web site that would allow them to scam free press passes to CART races.

Lizzerd
09-25-03, 07:04 PM
Well, I'm not taking credit for it, but I said FTG (the words) back in 1994 or 1995 as soon as I heard about The Vision, Version 1.0. That was long before I started playing in racing forums on the internet.

DjDrOmusic
09-25-03, 07:08 PM
I actually heard the term Crapwagon as a child at my Grandfathers farm...but I'm pretty sure he was talking about something else! :D

RaceGrrl
09-25-03, 07:09 PM
I don't know about FTG, but I know that Mike Kellner coined the term Crap Wagon a few years ago. It caught on and was used with some frequency at 7G before Paul Tracy referred to the crapwagons in the interview.

Correct me if I'm wrong folks. (Better take the opportunity, I don't make that statement often)

racer2c
09-25-03, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by RaceGrrl
I don't know about FTG, but I know that Mike Kellner coined the term Crap Wagon a few years ago. It caught on and was used with some frequency at 7G before Paul Tracy referred to the crapwagons in the interview.

Correct me if I'm wrong folks. (Better take the opportunity, I don't make that statement often)

It was indeed Mike although I remember him being rather humble about it's popularity.