PDA

View Full Version : Going to Carson CA, what to do?

cameraman
04-06-16, 09:17 AM
The offspring eats, sleeps and breathes Arsenal FC which is great if you live in London but we don't. So this summer Arsenal is doing a fly away in California so I went ahead and spent a small fortune on some tickets to see Arsenal FC play Chivas de Guadalajara at the StubHub Center which is on the campus of CSU-Dominguez Hills in Carson. Same place the Galaxy play.

So getting there is simple, I hop on I-15 and drive 10 hours and then take 91 from Corona to Carson. (I have no idea if that is a good idea or not)

The main question I have is where does one stay? I have no knowledge of the LA area beyond that I probably don't want to stay in Compton. So do we go south somewhere or what?

Advise greatly needed...

indyfan31
04-06-16, 09:40 AM
You might look into staying in Long Beach, lots of hotels and places to eat. The areas around Carson (Torrance, Willmington, Compton, Harbor City, Lomita, etc.) are not exactly 'tourist friendly". BTW, your navigation is about as direct as you're going to get, just be prepared to sit in traffic for no apparent reason. :flaming:

Gnam
04-06-16, 01:02 PM
Disneyland?

dando
04-06-16, 03:21 PM
The offspring eats, sleeps and breathes Arsenal FC which is great if you live in London but we don't. So this summer Arsenal is doing a fly away in California so I went ahead and spent a small fortune on some tickets to see Arsenal FC play Chivas de Guadalajara at the StubHub Center which is on the campus of CSU-Dominguez Hills in Carson. Same place the Galaxy play.

So getting there is simple, I hop on I-15 and drive 10 hours and then take 91 from Corona to Carson. (I have no idea if that is a good idea or not)

The main question I have is where does one stay? I have no knowledge of the LA area beyond that I probably don't want to stay in Compton. So do we go south somewhere or what?

Advise greatly needed...