PDA

View Full Version : From NYTimes Archive

Mary
10-04-15, 11:53 AM
Don't know if you can read this, the New York Times is funky about access (I have a subscription) but I ran across this today. I read a news article in this issue and decided to look to see what was going on in 1970 when I was 13 years old, when I ran across this:

http://timesmachine.nytimes.com/timesmachine/1970/10/05/issue.html

It is from the Monday, October 5, 1970 edition, click to page 78.

Mary

TravelGal
10-05-15, 12:43 PM
It opened for me. I took the time throughout this morning to go page by page until I got to 78. It struck me how much we lost when those elegant drawings changed to "art" or photos: The human touch that brought you into the advertisements. Gimbels, Lord & Taylor, such storied names. An ad by an airline FOR a travel agent! It also struck me how, not similar but, the SAME so many problems are now. The stories are all the same, just the cast of characters has changed. Page 78 was a revelation. I wasn't a race fan then but can certainly appreciate it now. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

Gopeddle
10-05-15, 03:39 PM
Thanks for that little bit of yesterday. I too enjoyed seeing the Don Troudsdell designed ads for Barney's and all the ads influenced by Push Pin Studios. Great stuff. I was also surprised to see the prize money listed for the finishing positions at the Glenn. When did they put a lid on publishing the purses?

SteveH
10-05-15, 04:21 PM
Don't know if you can read this, the New York Times is funky about access (I have a subscription) but I ran across this today. I read a news article in this issue and decided to look to see what was going on in 1970 when I was 13 years old, when I ran across this:

http://timesmachine.nytimes.com/timesmachine/1970/10/05/issue.html

It is from the Monday, October 5, 1970 edition, click to page 78.

Mary