PDA

View Full Version : Internal Andretti lawsuit

dando
08-12-15, 12:07 PM
http://www.racer.com/indycar/item/120198-indycar-internal-lawsuit-leveled-at-andretti

:rofl:

chop456
08-12-15, 01:14 PM
He deserves everything he gets. Anyone else think that he's not paying for his own lawyer?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Ed_Severson
08-12-15, 01:45 PM
I'm no lawyer and I don't have any special knowledge of this case, but when I first read the article there was something that jumped out at me right away:

"... insolvent and in imminent danger of insolvency ..."

It's got to be one or the other, right? How can you be both insolvent but also only in imminent danger of being insolvent?

Without knowing anything about the actual merits of the case, it sounds to me like Lopes is flinging ******** around hoping something will stick. He can't seem to even get his story straight.

Tifosi24
08-12-15, 02:32 PM
It may seem like a distinction without a difference, but my guess is the first part alleges that there is no money left and very soon this lack of money will trigger a bankruptcy. If I'm flatbroke, I am insolvent, but I am not legally insolvent or bankrupt until I miss payments.

Elmo T
08-12-15, 02:55 PM
Clicked the link to read the article - stayed to read the comments. :rofl:

TravelGal
08-12-15, 03:36 PM
Clicked the link to read the article - stayed to read the comments. :rofl:

Good for you. My eyes glazed over along about the 150th line by FormulaFox.

What jumped out at the was "Lopes also helped guide IndyCar driver Simona de Silvestro after she broke from her longtime manager last year." So yeah, he's always in the thick of stuff. Not always good stuff. To paraphrase one of the comments, he's probably figuring he can get some money if he hacks the company now but he doesn't know how much until the discovery phase of the lawsuit. He must feel the books are cooked for the shareholders.

cameraman
08-19-15, 06:08 PM