PDA

View Full Version : IT ethics questions vs. politics

datachicane
06-02-15, 03:50 PM
I'd be interested in the take of others in the field (and outside, for that matter).
For those who haven't heard the sordid story of our former governor and his email woes:

http://www.wweek.com/portland/article-24792-the_whistleblower.html

Full disclosure: I also work in IT for the State of Oregon. I know Michael, although I've never worked directly with him. He's a good guy, makes a mean salsa. I want to be sympathetic to him, and I'm more than willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

That said- this leaves a very, very bad taste in my mouth. Information security is something we take very seriously. We all go through mandatory retraining on our IT security policies and procedures at least once a year. This is not a subject that's an afterthought, or something that gets lip service.

Improper deletion of data is a serious offense, but no more serious than a data breach. I have no doubt that I would share Michael's concerns about the possibility that the emails would, in fact, be deleted. I strongly suspect that he's not the only one who made an extra copy after seeing that request. While the deletion was, in fact, never carried out, we'll never know whether the leak itself changed that. Given that the request was almost certainly illegal, and given the fact that the Feds had already begun their own investigation, the prudent thing would seem to be to sit on the copy until there was actually a legal framework to disclose them. Turning them over to a reporter before it's even clear that the deletion request will end up being carried out? Unconscionable.