PDA

View Full Version : AC Tune Up

Insomniac
05-25-13, 08:49 PM
Does anyone get this done? If so, do you do it annually (or some other interval)? Seems like I need to do something. 80 degrees out, 84 in the house. Turned the AC on and set it to 78. 2 hours later, it was down to 80 in the house. Any advice?

indyfan31
05-25-13, 11:44 PM
Other than cleaning/replacing filters I can't imagine anything that needs to be "tuned up"; although I keep getting offers from one local HVAC shop. I guess you could check for coolant leaks. I have had the same situation happen to me as you mentioned but I attributed that to Edison's control of of the compressor during "peak usage" periods.

Gnam
05-26-13, 01:12 AM
I am not an HVAC expert. It sounds like the thermostat is working. It's measuring the temperature and sending a signal to the unit to turn on. Also, it sounds like the blower is working, so the unit has power. The only other faults I can think of would be the electric motor that pumps the coolant, or the coolant itself.

One time at work everyone closed their vents because they didn't like the draft. With no where to go, the cold air backed up into the ducts and froze the coils solid. The frozen coils blocked the flow of air, which meant no AC for anyone. Then they all complained about the heat. Good times.

cameraman
05-26-13, 02:20 AM
You could have a coolant leak. You don't need to have the pressure checked every year but it sounds like you're due. Turn it off until you get it checked. Running the compressor without coolant will kill it.

dando
05-26-13, 07:14 AM