PDA

View Full Version : Accessing Files from Old Laptop and Recommendations on New to Me Model?

KaBoom21
01-08-13, 12:46 PM
Greetings all! Long time, no speak.

I have an old Dell Latitude that took a dump on me. The first problem was bumping into something while carrying it - I swear I wasn't drunk, I'm legally blind in my right eye, so no real depth perception. The screen "cracked" for lack of a better term and I had a hard time reading it. Over time it just got worse.

Now it doesn't even power up completely like it used to with the Windows pop-up asking for name/password. I just get the prompt (C, F something like that).

Is there a way to get my documents and music files off of it via a USB-type connection?

Also, dough is tight and I need a laptop now. The idea of buying used via craigslist scares me.

I really only need Microsoft Office ability and Wifi access. I'm thinking like $200.

dando
01-08-13, 01:10 PM
I'm leery of buying anything off Craigslist, and I'm a veteran eBay buyer. Lots of laptops available in that range on eBay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-NC6400-LAPTOP-1-83GHz-WINDOWS-7-COMPUTER-FAST-WIRELESS-WIFI-CDRW-DVD-NOTEBOOK-/170970820545?pt=Laptops_Nov05&hash=item27cea7afc1

I'm not an expert (I just come here to read posts from those that are), but it appears your File Allocation Table (FAT) is corrupt. The data is still there most likely, but you need to boot with a recovery disk to recover the data. I suggest getting it to a good repair shop to recover the data to a CD or flash drive, and then move it to the 'new' machine.

I also recommend using Open Office or Google Docs.

I'll let the experts chime in.

-Kevin

Insomniac
01-08-13, 03:38 PM
If you have any friends who are very knowledgeable, it's best to have them take a look. Data recovery is generally complex. Which unfortunately sounds like your problem. A C:\ prompt seems odd when you have Windows. Usually you get more cryptic or alarming messages.

dando
01-08-13, 03:48 PM