PDA

View Full Version : Which failure would you rather have?

stroker
02-26-08, 11:02 PM
I'm not sure what forum to put this in. I was thinking about spec racing and limitations and couldn't figure this out (which probably shows how ignorant I am about real mechanics).

Let's say you're humming along at a nice clip of about 220mph at Michigan in your Champ/Indy car (pick your flavor--it doesn't matter).

Which of the following engine failures would you most want to have (defined as the one with the LEAST chance of causing you or other cars to wreck)?

1. Crank bearing failure
2. Rod end failure
3. Valve train failure
4. Head gasket failure
5. Exhaust gasket failure
6. Piston ring/Piston failure

Andrew Longman
02-26-08, 11:22 PM
I'm not an engineer, I don't play one on TV, but I've consulted to a few.

I''d say 1,2,3 are the least desirable. They happen suddenly and throw all sorts of parts and pieces into the works, throwing oil on the track and rapidly pitching the velocity of the car out of sorts.

4, 5, & 6 can be more progressive or at least simply cause a sharp drop of power. Much more controlled retirement

cameraman
02-26-08, 11:27 PM
My instincts as a biologist:p would have me choose 5.

SteveH
02-27-08, 12:06 AM
I didn't even stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but I'll go with 4 and 5.

rabbit
02-27-08, 01:05 AM

(not trying to start a countdown ;) , just sayin which one I'd pick, not that I'm an expert)

JT265
02-27-08, 09:09 AM
I'd go with 5 too.

opinionated ow
02-27-08, 09:22 AM
piston and ring. it will kill a cylinder but not the whole engine instantly

miatanut
02-27-08, 04:55 PM
I'm going with 5.

If it were a turbo, it might shift the balance to 4, because 5 could mean a sudden loss of boost, although a big plume of steam behind you could blind a driver and cause him to rear-end you, so 5 probably still wins.

stroker
02-27-08, 05:40 PM
Okay, lemme 'splain my thinking.