PDA

View Full Version : Honking could be Hazardous to Your Health

Pages : [1] 2

Sean Malone
01-14-08, 03:43 PM
As some of you may recall recently relocated to FL. The Tampa suburbs to be exact. You may also recall that I used to live in DC where I commuted into Alexandria, DC, Fall Church and then Reston over 15 years. I was a professional. I could fill a hole where there wasn’t a hole without anyone hardly noticing. One of the tools of a professional commuter is the horn. Usually reserved to wake up cell phone users or the ladies who decide this would be a good time to put their makeup on. Honking was common, honking was normal. It was and I’m sure it still is, just a part of the suburb to city commute.

Yesterday my wife and I ran out to get some playoff necessities and while turning into the strip mall where the grocery store is I had to wait for a guy coming the other way who decided he was going to turn into the mall also but he wasn’t going to use a turn signal. No prob, 98% of Floridians don’t use turn signals. I turn in behind him and we head toward the grocery store, while passing the fast food place he decides he is hungry and slams on his brakes turns toward the hamburger joint but stops in what I assume was a moment of indecision. I give him a one second little blip of the horn just to let him know I was behind him. Immediately the door of his Expedition flings open and out comes a mountain of a man. 6’5”, easily 300lbs with both arms raised in the air in the universal ‘man’ sign language that says “you gotta a f’n problem?”.