PDA

View Full Version : new car Protection

G.
09-03-07, 02:39 PM
I bought a new ride this wkend. the cheaper one (http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/suvs/112_0707_hyundai_veracruz_lexus_rx350)

Of course they wanted to sell me extended warranty, rustproofing, etc.

The one thing that actually DID capture my attention was the paint protection. They mumbled something about new EPA paint rules and acid rain, bird crap, etc.

Anyone know what the new paint rules are? The car doesn't seem to be clearcoated, but I'm no expert.

Anyone ever get TheProtector link that doesn't really tell you anything (http://ecpinc.net/ecpframe.htm) and have been impressed with it?

Almost $600 for paint, leather, rust and undercoating/soundproofing. The paint gets Dupont PTFE coating.

Thanks.

SteveH
09-03-07, 03:15 PM
How long do you plan to own this car?

Methanolandbrats
09-03-07, 03:18 PM
Hyundai mechanicals won't last long enough for you to worry about paint or rust :gomer:

Stu
09-03-07, 03:34 PM
Hyundai mechanicals won't last long enough for you to worry about paint or rust :gomer:

so you're saying he has nothing to worry about since the paint should last a good 200,000 miles?

Methanolandbrats
09-03-07, 03:54 PM
so you're saying he has nothing to worry about since the paint should last a good 200,000 miles? Easily :D

G.
09-03-07, 04:29 PM
I've been trying for months for someone to talk me out of a Hyundai. They seem to have figgered out the whole quality thing.

I'll keep it for 7-10 years, Steve, assuming I'm not horribly mistaken about the ^^^above.:)

Winston Wolfe
09-03-07, 04:52 PM