PDA

View Full Version : Camera opinions, please

Indy
04-24-07, 08:29 PM
Since you guys are the biggest racing/tech geeks I know (besides myself), I would like your opinions.

I am going to buy two new digital cameras. One is for the wife to keep in her purse and use for snapshots. Bells and whistles are not needed, except for those that make better pictures of people. I have so far found the best option to be the Fujifilm Z5, which has face recognition and image stabilization, and can be had for about $220.

For myself, I am considering the Canon S3 IS, which can be had for about $320. I do want all of the bells and whistles, especially those which will allow me to be creative and shoot racing well. I am an experienced photographer who knows the ins and outs of shooting with 35mm, from full manual to program, both with and without autofocus. I considered going SLR, but the price is too high for a body plus decent lenses, and I am getting tired of lugging around the gadget bag (which I can still do with my film equipment, if I feel like it).

What do you think of these cameras, and would you point me in another direction? I appreciate your comments.

nissan gtp
04-24-07, 08:56 PM
I have a Casio Exilm 750 --- an excellent and tiny camera that I'd recommend without reservation. I also have a Nikon D70 and a bag of lenses, but the Caiso is pocket-sized, takes great pictures (and movies), and has decent optical zoom. It provide full manual control. Great LCD, and the software/menus are EXCELLENT.

The Nikon is much better for race photography, but the Casio is a good all-around, take it everywhere kinda camera.
The Canon DSLR's are also excellent BTW -- higher-end versions (above your starting price range ;) ) are great for motorports shooting.

The F Z5 sounds nice BTW, the image stabilization would be a great feature. Compare to Casios (http://www.casio-europe.com/euro/exilim/exilimzoom/) just for fun.

RichK
04-24-07, 09:05 PM