PDA

View Full Version : AutoCAD questions

Warlock!
04-09-07, 09:31 AM
I work in the construction industry, and one of my primary jobs is preliminary design work. For the last 14 years I've worked with a product called DataCAD, which is a great product specifically designed for architecture. It was easy to learn and has always worked flawlessly, but now that electronic files are being passed back and forth between myself and other designers/architects I'm running into too many compatibility issues with users of AutoCAD. I can convert AutoCAD stuff to DataCAD, but too many entities get effed up in the conversions.

I really don't want to re-learn a whole new CADD program, but I'd like to be able to read and lightly edit Autocad files with the least amount of effort. Is AutoCAD LT what I should be looking at, or is there an AutoCAD reader that I can use to get by?

Any info would be... well... informative.

rosawendel
04-09-07, 09:38 AM
autocad light would minimize translation issues. if you learn autocad light, you'd be halfway to learning autocad.

Wheel-Nut
04-09-07, 09:44 AM
Sounds like AutoCad LT is what you need. Autodesk does have a reader on their website, finally!!

I have used AutoCad for the past 16 years, Structural drafting, started with Release 9 and am now using 2007.

2007 is a memory hog so I'm sure 2007 LT would be the same. I'm running 1 gig of ram.

I'm thinking a new seat of 2007 LT is in the $1800 range but I could be wrong.

Wheel-Nut
04-09-07, 09:45 AM
autocad light would minimize translation issues. if you learn autocad light, you'd be halfway to learning autocad.

The only differences between LT and full blow AutoCad that I have noticed:

LT does not have 3D capability and is won't run our custom Lisp programs.

rosawendel
04-09-07, 11:17 AM
The only differences between LT and full blow AutoCad that I have noticed:

LT does not have 3D capability and is won't run our custom Lisp programs.