PDA

View Full Version : So you think your home theater's cool?

RacinM3
10-06-06, 04:06 PM
Some here may know what I do for a living....I own a small architectural specialties company; we do things like walls that move (like you'd find in a hotel ballroom) and movable glass walls, among other things.

We've done a lot of work for the Hollywood-types - studios, executives, etc. The other day I got a call from a woman who wants to do a couple of sliding glass walls in her house....the things are expensive, like $250 a square foot (do the math on a 20' x 10' opening :eek: ), so I always cringe a little when a "homeowner" calls - I'd much rather work for companies rather than individuals.

Regardless, I head over to her place in the Hollywood Hills. She calls me in the car, and says she has to run out but her husband can show me what they want to do. I get there, he answers the door. Nice guy, unassuming, and we go over the specifics. While I'm there, I notice a pair of doors leading to what is obviously a very large, dimly lit room. I ask him what it is, and he offers to show me.

We go in, and it's a movie theater. Not a home theater, a movie theater, only without the seats. Mid room, there's a huge mixing console, in front of that is just floor space until the screen, and behind the console are maybe 20 plush leather chairs. There was something playing on the screen; I asked what it was and he says "something New Line sent over". Obviously I'm in the home of someone who's "someone" in the industry.

Like I said, I do a lot of entertainment stuff....but this guy's house rivalled anything I've ever seen at ANY studio.

I did a search on him after I got back to the office. He's got over 90 movies to his name as a sound editor. In my searches, I ran across a pic of the space....

http://www.euphonix.com/post/s5_installs/jross_dub_01_700.jpg

A link to the page describing his system: http://www.euphonix.com/post/s5_installs/jross.htm