PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Small Business Advice Needed!

racer2c
07-26-06, 10:59 AM
First I’ll state that I have zero knowledge of running a small business. I’ve been in the corporate world for 15 years and don’t know all of the in’s and out’s of what to watch out for and be careful for.

Here’s the story and I’m going to be brutally honest about the characters.

My, now 30 year old, brother in law got out of the Navy eight or nine years ago and decided that he would take his new found skills of painting out into the world, which he did. He went to work for some auto body shops as a prep boy and worked his way up to head painter. His forte though was graphic painting to which he aspired to do full time. He found a motorcycle shop that needed a graphic painter and he worked there for two years honing his skills. That place went under (this was before the chopper boom of the new millennium) and he went back to schlepping paint on cars (which is a step backwards for graphic painters but it’s a paycheck).

Fast forward to 2005. The real-estate boom raises the price of their house to three or four times what they paid for it six years ago and the light goes off over him and his wife’s head; sell the house and buy their dream of owning their own paint shop. So they start looking…and after a few months they found a turn key operation that’s perfect for them in another state.
They sell their place, buy the shop and a small house (the market is much more recessed then the area they were in) and have been the proud owners of their own auto paint shop for about four months now.
My wife gets a call the other night. It’s her brother and he’s moaning and complaining and unloads an hour of crocodile tears on his big sis. They have zero customers, the equipment is breaking and only three months left of the money they have allotted to keep them going.