PDA

View Full Version : Wilson on Fabio: He's not a wanker

Lux Interior
06-22-06, 06:39 AM
Here's a snippet from an article I just read:

"At Las Vegas in 2004, during a chat with Justin Wilson, I asked him whether he could gauge how much progress he had made over the course of his maiden Champ Car season. After all, as an ex-F1 driver, I figured his teammates at Conquest Racing - first Alex Sperafico, then Nelson Philippe - weren't going to produce much worthwhile data with which he could learn.

Wilson swiftly corrected me. "Nelson's all right, actually," he said, "he's just very inexperienced. He's 17, and it's only his second year in cars. If he gets more races under his belt, he'll be fine. If he learns as he's going along, he should be pretty good. He's not a wanker."

I think Justin was right. Anyone think Phillipe can sneak in a win this year? I'd give it a 50-50 chance he can get one.

Spicoli
06-22-06, 06:44 AM
Nelsonmania!

:thumbup: :p :thumbup:

RHR_Fan
06-22-06, 10:20 AM
Nelsonmania!

:thumbup: :p :thumbup:

You and Nelsonmania! :D

~Nicole

Sean O'Gorman
06-22-06, 10:47 AM
No, Nelson sucks and will always be a wanker.

Easy
06-22-06, 11:08 AM
"He should be pretty good, he isn't a wanker" isn't exactly saying the guy show's hints of a Senna like talent. Hell its not even saying he shows an Eddie Irvine like talent.

Fio1
06-22-06, 11:22 AM

No, I think Wislon is right. If the kid keeps improving, he should win races next year or the year after. What is he 19, now? Remember, he'll still be 21 in 2 seasons! :thumbup:

skaven
06-22-06, 11:24 AM
I'm sceptical regarding him getting a win, but if things go his way, he has sone speed to take advantage of an opportunity.

I remember his first race in Denver... he came into the mile-wide corner from a variety of angles, locking up the brakes and basically looking out of control each lap. Seabass on the other hand was smooth each lap.

I'm looking forward to seeing how much he's progressed this year in Denver.