PDA

View Full Version : Probably a really stupid question

Andrew Longman
06-04-06, 06:27 PM
Watching AMA at RA, I am really looking forward to my pilgrimage there in September.

But it is the first time I've watched bikes on a track I know well. Are brake points for bike a lot earlier than what is typical for a Champcar or Atlantics?

Seems so. I would have thought the lower speed, lighter weight, ability to bank, and discs about the same size would have made it about the same or at least closer.

I guess the smaller contact patch makes the difference. Be patient, I'm still learning this bike thing. :gomer:

coolhand
06-04-06, 06:56 PM
The biggest differnce between the bikes and cars is the overall contact patch. Two skinny wheels means longer breaking zones and slower cornering.

however they are faster at top speed. The best track to do a comparision is Catalunya. F1 v. MotoGP. The bikes clock higher in the speed traps there but the F1 cars fly faster through the twisty parks. Its due to the combination of better grip, downforce and braking. The lack of those is why the bikes are faster on the top end, less drag and friction.

2 years ago I looked into this because I had no clue about the performance difference between motogp and F1.

DagoFast
06-04-06, 07:07 PM
Very different chassis dynamics at work. Bikes have huge engine and braking power. It's the rider delicately balancing it that is the attraction.

The contact patch is smaller, but there is enough traction and braking force to lift the rear tire up off the track when the bike is upright and still going straight. (watch some MotoGP in slo-mo, 3-4" of daylight under the rear tire at the end of a 200 MPH straightaway!)