PDA

View Full Version : GPL (cont)

rabbit
04-01-03, 02:55 PM
Man, I have got to get a wheel! I'm getting carpal tunnel from playing using the keyboard. I'm having a blast though. I've been racing just at Monza until I can get more used to the cars and the game itself. I set my fastest lap at Monza last night with a 1:48 in the Ferrari. One thing that impresses me about the game is how completely different the various cars drive. So far, the Ferrari seems to suit my driving style the best. I was running mid-1:50s in the Lotus. The Eagle I couldn't even keep on the track. It had wicked oversteer. I'm no engineer by any stretch so playing with setups will have to come later. But the Ferrari seems to have a good baseline for me. Plus it's definitely the best sounding one of the bunch!

mnkywrch
04-01-03, 03:04 PM
You're playing it with the keyboard?

:eek:

Didn't know that was possible. A braver man than I...

Yeah, a wheel will help big.

Try Alison Hine's (http://eaglewoman.simracing.dk/gpl/setups.htm) setups, they may be a good starting point.

Or, if you're lazy like me, good enough to race with.

Warlock!
04-01-03, 03:29 PM
Again, with the keyboard? You'll be surprised how fast a 1:48 lap at monza using a keyboard will turn into a sub-1:40 lap with a wheel. Probably like... oh, I dunno... about 2 laps! Heck, I have an old Thrustmaster wheel I can GIVE ya if you want. No pedals, but it's got analog butterfly levers for gas & brake, plus buttons for shifting. Been on the shelf for over 3 years. You owe it to yourself (and the game) to get the wheel.

And yes, allison has some great setups for all skill levels.

Warlock!

JoeBob
04-01-03, 03:45 PM
Comp USA has the Logitech Momo wheel on sale for $69.99 if you bring this ad with you to the store (and they have it in stock) http://www.compusa.com/adproducts/html_ad/default.asp

None of the stores near me have it in stock (you can check online)

JT265
04-01-03, 03:50 PM
1:48 at Monza?